This page may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission if you make a purchase using any of these links.

Fat Quarter Shop's Notion of the Month Sale

I m looking to buy a sewing machine and need a little advice about what to get. I had a singer for about twenty years, but never got it to work properly (bobbin jamming and stitch tension never right) so threw it out a couple years ago. Now seek advice on which very forgiving beginner machine to buy. I have access to Singer, Janome and Brother at the stores here in Australia. In the near term, I hope to make dolls clothes and such, as well as the odd clothing repair or hem. Some day I'd like to do quilting, so I'd ideally like a machine suitable for that as well. I'd appreciate any suggestions or advice. Thanks!

Views: 109

Reply to This

Replies to This Post

buy a Kenmore they are great! I hear this all the time online and some people around me that sew as well! I have one and I love it!... I'm not an expert thought! I just started to sew about 3 months ago, (LOL : )) but so far I love it!
I have 2 Brother machines. A PC6000 and a PQ1500. I love both of them. I chose Brother because they had the features I wanted for a price I could afford. I used a Kenmore for about 12 years before I bought them. It still sews like a charm, but is a very basic machine. I made lots of clothes on it for my daughter when she was little.
I would suggest you try out a few, if possible, before you decide. Check out the features of each machine. For quilting the needle down position is a must for me. I also like the automatic thread cutter on my machine when I'm piecing.
Here's an interesting article:
http://www.quiltbus.com/sew.htm
I bought a used Janome MC 5000 and I love it most of the time. I've used older machines Kennmore, singer, and Montgomery Wards, My Janome has them beat hands down. A used machine might be a good bet for you. I got mine for $200